A new socialism in Nepal now: Vice Chair Gautam

Kathmandu, Feb 5 : CPN (UML) Vice Chair Bamdev Gautam has said the left alliance would introduce a new type of socialism in the country. Speaking in a programme organized on the occasion of 20th anniversary of Press Chautari Nepal in the capital city Sunday, leader Gautam argued that even the rest of world could know about such new kind of socialism from Nepal.

According to him, such socialism would be similar as opined by Karl Marx and Lenin but the ‘way to achieve’ would be different.
On another note, Vice Chair Gautam said that the unity between UML and CPN (Maoist Centre) was imperative, as it was the sixth attempt of unification between these leftist parties.

The unity does not mean one party gives in to another, but both form a new party with dignified merger.
Similarly, he observed that process to form a new government was delayed due to the misinterpretation of the constitution.
The Vice Chair said that the recent visit of the Indian External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj to Nepal was to harmonize the bilateral ties.

Speaking in the same programme, party secretary and chief of publicity department Yogesh Bhattarai said that the future politics of the country would be heavily influenced by the decisions of UML and MC. He further assured that the new government to be formed under the left alliance would ensure press freedom ten times more than the current situation.
Similarly, Maoist Centre Spokesperson Pampha Bhusal focused on economic prosperity in the country. She also appreciated the role of media in each political movement.
Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) Chair Govinda Acharya, Press Council Acting Chair Kishor Shrestha, Chautari Chair Ganesh Basnet, UML central member Surya Thapa, Chautari Former Chair Shambhu Shrestha, Press Centre Vice Chair Om Sharma among others addressed the programme.
Six journalists feted
On the occasion, six journalists were feted. Krishna Murari Bhandari and Raghu Mainali were feted with Hridaya Chandra Singh Journalism Award and Agnishikha Journalism award respectively. The both awards carry a purse of Rs 15,000.
Similarly, Siddha Raj Rai (Dhankuta) and Janak Nepal (Nepalgunj) were conferred on the Dekendra Memorial Journalism Award.
Likewise, Mandira Thapa (Dolakha) and Bhusan Yadav (Parsa) were jointly awarded by Birendra Kumar Sah Active Journalism Award. The awards carry a purse of Rs 5,000.
Meanwhile, leaders Bhattarai and Gokul Banskota were also feted on their victory as members of parliament. Council Acting Chair Shrestha was also feted in the programme.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *